How to delete search history in Gmail desktop and app

Gmail search history is a feature of the Gmail email service that allows users to view and manage the terms they have recently searched for within their Gmail account. This feature is available to users who are signed in to their Gmail account, and can be accessed from the Gmail website or from the Gmail mobile app.

To view your Gmail search history, you can follow these steps:

  1. Open the Gmail website or the Gmail mobile app and sign in to your account.
  2. Once you are signed in, click on the “Settings” icon in the top-right corner of the page, represented by a gear icon.
  3. In the menu that appears, click on “See all settings.”
  4. On the Settings page, click on the “General” tab.
  5. Scroll down to the “Search settings” section and click on the “Show search history” link.
  6. This will open a page showing the terms you have recently searched for in Gmail.

You can use this page to view your search history, delete specific search terms, or clear your entire search history. Please note that this feature is only available to users who are signed in to their Gmail account, and that your search history will only be available on the device and web browser you are currently using.

To view or manage your search history on other devices or browsers, you will need to sign in to your Gmail account on those devices and repeat the steps above.

 

How to view and clear Gmail search history

gmail screen

 iPhone

To view and delete your Gmail search history on an iPhone, you will need to use the Gmail app.

  1. First, open the app and log in to your account.
  2. Then, tap the menu icon in the top left corner of the screen and select “Search” from the menu. This will open a list of your recent search queries.
  3. To delete a specific search query, tap the “X” button next to it.
  4. To clear your entire search history, tap the menu icon again and select “Clear search history” from the menu.
  5. Keep in mind that this will delete your entire search history, so you may want to be selective about which searches you delete.

Simplified:

  • First, launch the Gmail app.
  • Tap on “Menu”
  • Scroll through the available options and tap on “Settings”
  • On the new window, tap on your account
  • Scroll down and select “Clear search history”

 

 Android

To view and delete your Gmail search history on an Android device, you will need to use the Gmail app.

  1. First, open the app and log in to your account.
  2. Then, tap the menu icon in the top left corner of the screen and select “Settings” from the menu. In the Settings menu, select the account you want to manage, then tap “Search settings.” This will open a list of your recent search queries.
  3. To delete a specific search query, tap the “X” button next to it. To clear your entire search history, tap the “Clear search history” button at the bottom of the screen.

Keep in mind that this will delete your entire search history, so you may want to be selective about which searches you delete.

Simplified:

  • Launch the Gmail app
  • Tap on “Menu”
  • Scroll through the available options and tap on “Settings”> “General Settings”
  • On the new window, tap on the three vertical dotson the top right corner of the app.
  • Select “Clear search history” from the drop-down menu
  • You’ll then notice a pop message that says “All of the searches that you have previously performed will be removed
  • Tap on “Clear” to delete your Android Gmail searches activity.

 

In your computer

To view and delete your Gmail search history on a computer, you will need to use a web browser and log in to your Gmail account.

  1. Once you are logged in, click the gear icon in the top right corner of the screen and select “Settings” from the menu.
  2. In the Settings menu, click the “Search settings” tab. This will open a page where you can view and manage your search history.
  3. To delete a specific search query, click the “X” button next to it. To clear your entire search history, click the “Clear search history” button at the bottom of the page.

Keep in mind that this will delete your entire search history, so you may want to be selective about which searches you delete.

 

How to delete Gmail account history

To delete your Gmail account history on Windows 10 (manually):

  • Go to your Google Account on your computer,
  • Click on “Data & personalization” on the navigation panel at the top.
  • Under “Activity and timeline,” click on “My Activity
  • Click on “Main menu” .at the top of the page
  • Click on “Delete activity by”
  • Beneath “Delete Activity,” click on “All time
  • A box will then appear with the heading “Choose which services to delete from”
  • Select the options you want to delete or “Select all” to delete everything-
  • Lastly, Click on “Delete

 

Search hangouts history

To search for your hangouts activity in Gmail

  • On your Windows or Mac computer, launch Gmail with the same account you use for Hangouts
  • Type “in:chats” into the search box, followed by a word or phrase that can assist you to locate the message you’re searching for
  • Click on “Search”
  • You’ll then notice your Hangouts messages display a Hangouts icon in the search results

How To Turn Hangout history on or off:

Turning your Hangout history on or off changes the interaction for all persons involved. A notification will pop up in the Hangout window.

  • On your Windows or Mac computer, navigate to Hangouts at hangouts.google.com or in Gmail
  • Start a conversation.
  • Click on “Settings”at the top
  • Either Check or uncheck “Conversation history
  • If conversation history is Checked, thenHistory will be turned on, meaning that messages can be visible in the Hangouts on all your devices as well as in Gmail
  • If conversation history is Unchecked, then History will be turned off, meaning that Messages can only be visible for a brief period on your devices. Also, the messages cannot be saved and will be deleted
  • Click on “Ok

 

How to find chat history in Gmail

  • First, Launch a browser of your choice.
  • Then, Launch your Gmail account.
  • Now, Click on the gear symbol at the top
  • Choose the “Settings” option in the drop-down menu.
  • On the Settings menu Click on “Labels”
  • Locate the “Chat” option and click on “Show” beside it.
  • Click on the “Inbox” option to return to your inbox.

 

How to delete recent activity in Gmail

  • Go to your Google Account On your Windows or Mac computer
  • Click on Data & personalization on the navigation panel at the top
  • Under “Activity and timeline,” click on My Activity
  • Locate the item you intend to remove. Items can be located by:
    • Browsing the topic or product. At the top, under “Delete by topic or product,” click on “Try it”
    • Searching with keywords or dates
  • When you find the item, click on “More” .
  • Lastly, Click on “Delete

 

View and remove Gmail Suggested Searches

  1. Go to gmail.com and sign in with your user and password.
  2. If you want to remove the suggested searches go to the gmail search box and click with your mouse.
  3. All your recent searches will appear.
  4. For each search you can click on the X to delete it from your gmail history.

 

Can GMAIL see browsing history

Gmail cannot see your browsing history. It is a email service provided by Google, and as such, it only has access to the information that you provide to Google or that Google collects in relation to your use of its services.

This includes things like the emails you send and receive through Gmail, the files you store in Google Drive, and the search queries you make.  It does not include your browsing history, which is collected by your web browser and is not shared with Google or any other third party.

 

how long does gmail keep search history

By default, Gmail keeps your search history for a period of about two weeks. This means that if you search for something in Gmail and then return to the same search query at a later date, you will be able to see your past search results.

However, after two weeks have passed, Gmail will automatically delete your search history and you will no longer be able to view it.